WRITE ABOUT WHAT YOU KNOW

I was desperate for the publication date of my teen book. After the fun of conceiving it, the ups and downs and hard slog of writing it, I waved it off feeling proud and happy. And now it’s out there, meeting people.

Now I find myself padding around the house doing none of the things on my list of things to do (“US Tax forms, Silicone sealant for kitchen tiles, upload lovely review of teen book  by Inkcrush onto posterous”), wondering how to fill the empty void my all-grown-up book has left.

I’m pretty sure the only way to get over it is to do it all again.

So conception – fun part – here I come.

Louise Welsh’s talk at Weegie Wednesday inspired me to jump into it. “Write about what you know” she advised, and I left the Universal bar on Wednesday feeling confident about starting another story. The following day, cursor winking at me to begin a radio play set in Kashmir, I was faced with the depressing reality that I know nothing (honest, security forces).  Except that I travelled there, alone, in 1990, against (and because of) my mother’s sensible advice, and that I ended up acting as a decoy for film-makers. They pounced on me as I looked so idiotic and naive, and I travelled with them, taking tourist snaps and buying decade old souvenirs in the ghost town of Srinagar, while they documented the goings on.

Suppose I do know something, then. Mostly this: never tell your daughter to avoid doing dangerous things, unless you want her to do them.

Oh, and always write something easy on your list of things to do, so you can cross at least one thing off.

Lovely review of teen book by Inkcrush.

~ by helenfitzgerald on November 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
