ENOUGH WITH THE FART JOKES

Maxim Gorky is quoted as saying: “You must write for children the same way you write for adults, only better.”  

Yesterday, my family made its monthly pilgrimage to The Stand comedy club in the west end of Glasgow and watched three grown men ignore this sound advice. Don’t get me wrong, my family find poo and wee and farts quite funny, but the entire show was toilet related and the kids were not amused.

There were a few funny moments:

“Where’s your mum?” one of the performers asked and the child in the front-row pointed her out.

“So you know who your mother is. You must be from the west end,” the comedian said.

I’m applying to do a stand-up comedy course next term because I think the best writer events are ones where the author is funny (like Christopher Brookmyre and Alan Bissett and Mark Billingham), but I know that if I ever want to ever make Glaswegian children laugh, I have to be pretty damn sure that the routine is comedy genius.

 

 

~ by helenfitzgerald on February 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
