Two daughters. One heartbreaking choice.

First proof copy of The Donor arrived from Faber today. It’s gorgeous! Great tag line too –

Two daughters.

One heartbreaking choice. 

The_donor

Will Marion, a single dad, has two perfect kidneys. His sixteen year old twin daughters aren’t so lucky. Without transplants, both girls will probably never see adulthood. The waiting list seems never-ending and their types are rare.

Time is critical, and he has to make a decision.

Should he buy a kidney? Be an organ tourist? 

Should he save one child? If so, which one?

Should he sacrifice himself?

Or is there a fourth solution – one so terrible it has never even crossed his mind?

I’m not telling you what Will decides, but I would love to know what you’d do in his situation…

(I can’t work out how to upload this picuture, but it was the thing that most inspired me when I was writing this novel.  Boy, it’s a long one…)

http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/12_01/kidneyDM0312_800x483.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-499486/Inside-transplant-tourist-trade-The-desperate-men-One-Kidney-Island.html&usg=__ZkVBr1xHAxz3JV0VF3Yn19iR–c=&h=483&w=800&sz=100&hl=en&start=0&zoom=1&tbnid=24qBNMVd06VNRM:&tbnh=153&tbnw=217&ei=1bNnTZXFDJGKhQfIotTADQ&prev=/images%3Fq%3D%2522one%2Bkidney%2Bisland%2522%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN%26rlz%3D1W1SKPB_en%26biw%3D1259%26bih%3D628%26tbs%3Disch:1&um=1&itbs=1&iact=rc&dur=330&oei=1bNnTZXFDJGKhQfIotTADQ&page=1&ndsp=16&ved=1t:429,r:0,s:0&tx=161&ty=88 

 

 

~ by helenfitzgerald on February 25, 2011.

6 Responses to “Two daughters. One heartbreaking choice.”

  1. Congrats!

    Like

  2. Organ trafficking’s a horrible business, and it’s utterly unacceptable that we live in a world in which some people are so desperately poor they’re willing to sell a healthy kidney. But if one of my children needed an organ and the only way to get it was to buy it, would I? Absolutely.

    Like

  3. When I was writing the book, I rang my mum and asked her if she’d buy a kidney for me (for around ??40k) if I needed it. She said no, that she found it morally repugnant, feeding off other people’s misery. I think she was also worried about setting that kind of precedent in a family of our size!

    Like

  4. Knowing you, I bet I know what the protagonist decides…I thought the reason you and Serge had two kids was so you’d both be covered if you needed organ transplants.

    Like

  5. You know, I wondered if that was a real picture you’d described in the book…And I agree with Sergio, I find it morally wrong…as long as it’s not my kid. In which case, I’m on the first plane out there with my own box of ice.

    Like

  6. Did anyone see the story about the teenage boy (China I think) who sold his kidney to buy an Iphone or Ipad or Isomething?

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
