A prophet is not without honor save in his own country.

A few things stuck out at this year’s Crimefest in Bristol.

The first was that crime writers drink a lot.

Second they are fucking funny, much funnier in my experience than any other kind of writer-gathering. Lord Kevin of Wignall stands out (or so he says).

Most of all, I was gobsmacked by the number of authors desperate for a deal in their homeland, despite the fact that they were a huge success in other countries. One mega-talented author had sold half a million copies of his books in Europe, but was seriously upset that he had been ignored in the UK. Success elsewhere seemed almost irrelevant.

Okay, so I wasn’t a bestseller in Australia. When I tell my Aussie friends of success over here in Europe, they smirk, because – to them – countries other than Australia don’t matter. They don’t even exist. But to be honest, it doesn’t really bother me. I suppose it depends why you’re writing. I’m not writing to impress my family and friends. They already know I’m a toe-rag. I’m writing in the hope that anyone, anywhere, will read me, and a book sold in Siberia is as rewarding as one sold in Sydney.  

So, really, what does it matter if you’re ignored in your home country?

Now I’m gonna brag. My husband, Sergio Casci, has written a fab film – The Caller – which has its premiere at the Edinburgh Film Festival on 20th June. If you’re up north, go! It’s scary. We’re getting all LA here in Netherlee – Serge has only eaten soup for two months. I remember when he (we!) had the idea in the kitchen of our flat in the West End of Glasgow 20 years ago. It will be such a blast to see it on the big screen.

So here’s the trailer – share it!

(Serge has just asked me to take out “we”, because he claims I had nothing to do with the idea. I distinctly remember coming up with the best bits, so I’m not going to.)

A me brag now – The Donor – out 21st july – has made it into the supermarkets – yay! As a Sainsbury’s “summer read” and a Tesco “Book we Love”. 

 

~ by helenfitzgerald on May 28, 2011.

One Response to “A prophet is not without honor save in his own country.”

  1. Quite useful material, much thanks for this article. <br><a href="http://www.vbarcelone.com"&gt;???????????? ?????????? ?? ??????????????????</a>

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
