REVIEW – DEAD MONEY BY RAY BANKS

Like a chocolate filled with strawberry cream, and a drawing pin.

If Alan Slater reassures you that everything’s going to be fine, run for the hills.

This was my first Ray Banks experience and it was like an intensive masterclass in how to write.

There are unusual and hilarious descriptions in every paragraph. One at random, which concerns an unfortunate dog: “Fido here had soaked up enough water to keep an African village going for a week.” And another re double glazing: “Market’s constricting like a frightened arsehole.”

I devoured Dead Money… drawing pin and all.  Had to explain to my office mate why I was saying Ow and Oh no out loud while I was reading.

People have been telling me to read Ray Banks for a long time. Now I understand why.

Dead Money

Buy Dead Money on Amazon Uk here

And on Amazon US here 

 

~ by helenfitzgerald on December 5, 2011.

3 Responses to “REVIEW – DEAD MONEY BY RAY BANKS”

  1. Cheque’s in the post, Fitz. Don’t cash it for a while, though.

    Like

  2. That’s exactly what what one of my old publishers said Friday.

    Like

  3. Just reviewed your contribution to OFF THE RECORD. Also added you to my list of "arresting authors".

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
