I love Weegie Wednesday

It must be four years ago now that I was asked to go and speak at a networking event for writers in Glasgow. I was a bit nervous, being new to the whole writery scene, and went there straight from the airport expecting to sit at a table and try to impress a few scary people.

When I arrived, the Universal bar was full of new and established writers and journalists and film-makers and comic artists and graphic novelists, none of whom were scary. And thankfully there was no need for me to try and impress anyone.

It’s my favourite event and I try to get there every month. Last night, it moved venue from the Universal Bar to the CCA in Sauchiehall Street. The bar was mobbed. Ian Rankin gave an entertaining and inspirational talk. And then we drank.

I think it’s so successful because it’s unpretentious, unintimidating, and full of good chat. There’s a speaker every month who talks for ten minutes (no Q and A).  

Weegie Wednesdsay’s fun, but it’s also useful. I’ve made so many contacts there who’ve motivated and helped me. And I’ve made some wonderful, lifelong friends.

It’s on every month – the middle Wednesday. If you’re at all interested in writing, you should go.

 

They’re on facebook here

Website here

~ by helenfitzgerald on April 26, 2012.

2 Responses to “I love Weegie Wednesday”

  1. We love you too Helen. Thanks for the post.

    Like

  2. Couldn’t agree more. My experience exactly. Only someone told me I only had four minutes to speak so I spoke extra fast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
